Lacey Smith

From the Archives: The indomitable American spirit

In Uncategorized on April 2, 2014 at 2:01 pm

This post is from the Archive and was originally posted May 26, 2011. As I was rereading it today, I wanted to share it again. THIS is where RightsAndReason is going and THIS is why we are doing what we are doing. America, and the whole world, faces significant challenges. However, no one is better suited to address them head on than those who still feel the strength of the indomitable American spirit.

I’ve been really hard on Americans recently. I’ve implied or outright stated that Americans are lazy, uneducated, too trusting, compliant, unprincipled and apathetic. I have given a number of reasons of why America is broken. And I’ve pulled no punches. I am calling things like I see them.

However, I have also said that I believe America is the key to fixing the worlds’ problems. I believe that the American Spirit, joined with American people living up to our principled legacy and relying on Divine Providence, is completely unstoppable.

There are people in this country who embody that indomitable American spirit. Hell nor high water will move them from their stand.

Take a look at this video. The first 1:30 or so are enough to get the idea.

And he wasn’t the only one. A Missouri man built a levee of his own. And if you watch the video long enough you’ll find out it’s not the first time he’s done it.

In Jolpin, Missouri, the town is already rebuilding with friends and strangers joining together as neighbors. Their spirit is “tougher than a tornado” according to columnist Susan Campbell who grew up there.

It’s a message echoed by the mayor, in a conversation with Diane Sawyer. These people are amazing and if you visit no other link, watch the first minute of this ABC story. It will inspire you to tears.

Joplin, as many communities do during a crisis, embodies the American spirit.

No matter what we face, our spirit is the blood which beats through the rebel heart of America.

It is why we won our independence, why we fought the Civil War, why pioneers came West and why, against all odds, America still stands.

Leave a comment