Lacey Smith

Freedom Fridays: The Preamble (pt 4)

In Uncategorized on June 27, 2011 at 5:32 pm

I know today isn’t Friday but I’m still catching up. I also feel like it’s really important to keep posting the Freedom Friday posts which focus primarily on the things that help guarantee our freedoms.

These posts are by far the most work and least read, but are so important I feel like they are worth it.

Today’s post continues my analysis of the Constitution. After today we will be 1/3 the way through the Preamble. The material in this 52 word paragraph may be the best commentary on the purposes of government of anything ever written.

So far, we have gotten to the 16th word: “We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union…”

The next purpose of the American government is to “establish Justice…”

Justice is “the maintenance or administration of what is just…” and “the administration of law; especially : the establishment or determination of rights according to the rules of law or equity” (Miriam-Webster Online).

Justice is elemental in a republic. By definition, a republic is rule by representatives who “[govern] according to law…” (as in a constitution).

This is different than a democracy because in a democracy the rulers are not subject to a base set of laws on which  everything must be based.

I don’t know about you, but I want to live in a country where the people making the laws are subject to law.

As I was researching, an interesting element about justice caught my attention. As justice is the maintenance of what is just, I also looked up that definition.

In addition to other meanings, something just is “acting or being in conformity with what is morally upright or good.”

As a libertarian, I have always leaned away from legislating morality. However, working through the definition of this single word has caused me to reevaluate my stance on a number of moral issues and even on the scope of government.

Of course, legislating morality gets really scary unless there is a significant amount of agreement on what all parties feel is moral.

When I look at the world around me, I feel like justice is a very American ideal. There are many other nations that have a form of justice, but in no other nation that I know of (except maybe Israel) is justice such an essential part of the national fabric.

Justice really is the single underlying reason that the revolution occurred. Americans did not feel England was treating them in a way that lined up with what they thought was just and protected their rights as English citizens.

The founders wanted to protect the justice they purchased with blood and treasure and preserve it for the future.

This goal helps fulfill the ideals of the Declaration of Independence and protects the our rights.

Establishing justice is in our blood. It’s part of why we feel the need to rescue the world. It is a core American ideal and we must defend it.

  1. Keep up these Freedom Friday posts. I love them. If only we were a country that truly lived by the Constitution still today!

Leave a Reply

