Lacey Smith

Giving ourselves permission

In Uncategorized on July 1, 2011 at 3:21 pm

I’ve spent a lot of time on the “politics” part of this blog. It’s something I feel really strongly about and is definitely my focus. Today’s Freedom Friday blog will be up this evening and I’ve got a great post for Independence Day.

This post is about the “real world” part of my blog.

America is a place of incredible freedoms. We have, for 235 years, been paving a trail that the world has followed and fought against.

We are a radical nation and that spirit has helped create men like Thomas Edison and Walt Disney.

There are real challenges facing America today and people who want to damage our ability to succeed, or at least control that success, but the biggest obstacle to  our doing whatever we want to do is ourselves.

Let me restate that: We can do anything we want if we give ourselves permission.

I think a lot of times, we are waiting for someone else to give us permission to do what we aim to do because we are so used to asking someone else.

I only went to public school during my Elementary years in 3rd grade. It was the first time I had to regularly ask someone to go to the bathroom. Sometimes I was told to wait. That’s crazy.

Moreover, by the time my classmates got there, they had probably done that dozens, if not hundreds, of times.

It’s so ingrained in us for us to wait until someone tells us either that we can or should do something.

Here’s the problem: No one is going to give you permission.

It’s up to you to look at the things you love, the things you are passionate about, the things that matter to you and do something about them.

My cousin, Christina, takes beautiful photos. She’s an amateur photographer who saved up, bought a camera and started doing something about something she loved. I could be wrong, but I don’t think someone told her should could start taking pictures. She just did it.

My mom is also very talented and one of those talents is in musical theater. Our house had lots of drama and lots of music growing up. Mom thinks she’s “not that good” but a few years ago she auditioned for a role in our community’s production of Beauty and the Beast. She was an awesome Mrs. Potts and now sings with a choir we call Idaho Falls’ mini MoTab.

Some people are fearless and don’t need permission from anyone. Others of us are hesitant but we take up courage and start doing. Still more of us let fear define what we will do and what we will be.

I do it. I had to wait until a sense of civic responsibility and Glenn Beck got me writing again.

Today, give yourself permission to do whatever you want to do but aren’t doing because of whatever excuse you keep giving yourself.

If you have to, start small. Wear bright colors. Cook a recipe that intimidates you. Draw a picture, write a letter to the editor or speak in public.

If you still need permission, I’m giving it to you right now.

Empower yourself. You will leave a legacy and may even change the world. If not, you will likely change your world.

Leave a Reply

