Lacey Smith

Babysitters or government? I can’t tell the difference

In Uncategorized on July 13, 2011 at 12:00 pm

What do these three things have in common: my apartment complex swimming pool, coloring my hair and light bulbs?

I’ll give you a minute to think about it. … …

…………no guesses?

Ok. There were a few guesses when I posted this question yesterday. And they got pretty close to the answer.

All of these things, and hundreds of others I could mention, have one thing in common: they are somehow regulated by the government.

Right now it’s really ticking me off.

As we’ve gone through the Constitution’s preamble, I’ve repeatedly pointed out the purposes of government. Two weeks from now the Focus on Freedom post will be on the “promote the general welfare” clause, which is possibly the single-most manipulated phrase in the Constitution.

I am so sick of the government looking out for me. I have had. it.

Let me explain.

Just over a year ago, we moved into our apartment. We love just about everything except the eyesore of a pool.

When we moved in, the managers told us that they didn’t know when the pool would open up since it needed some work. It didn’t happen last year and when we were talking with them again, they explained that legally they couldn’t open the pool.

A few years ago Utah had a major crypto outbreak and so the government sweeping legislation including a law requiring all pools have two drains. Ours only has one.

The complex we live in is small, with only 32 apartments and many of the tenants likely would not use the equally small pool. Until recently, it was green, algae filled and a breeding ground for mosquitoes. Apparently that was better.

Also yesterday, I had to drive out to the beauty college where we usually get our haircuts. I have an appointment to get my hair cut and colored on Thursday, but before I could do that I had to have a patch test (putting hair color chemicals on your arm to make sure you don’t react).

Although I have colored my hair many times and have never had any serious reactions, I still had to have it done because the state required it since the school is state-funded.

I’m not even sure colleges and universities should be government funded, but I am sure I didn’t need the patch test and it still should’ve been my choice. I didn’t have a reaction, by the way.

Finally, the light bulb thing… This is not something regulated by Utah. No, it’s much bigger than that.

In 2007 Congress passed energy legislation that included new standards for light bulbs. It will essentially put a slow end to incandescent light bulbs.

The House failed to overturn the law yesterday.

This law was supposed to create more jobs and spur green energy. Instead, one of the unintended consequence of this law is that light bulb factory jobs have been shipped to China.

Besides losing more jobs overseas, these new bulbs cost anywhere from 430% to 5710% more. That’s not a small price increase.

Government “experts” claim that by 2015 households could save $50 a year because of the new law. I don’t know if this calculation is before or after the cost of the more expensive light bulbs, but it’s going to have to save me a lot more than $4.17 a month to be worth the switch.

Not only do they cost more, I don’t like them as much. They’re dangerous when broken and the quality of light is not as good. Manufacturers have also made the traditional incandescent bulb much more efficient in the last four years.

So here’s the major question: how is this in any way the government’s business??? How have all of these things fallen to the governments?

The overstep is ridiculous. I don’t know if there is anything in our lives government doesn’t have their hands in.

Enough is enough. It’s time for government to get out of our live.

Leave a Reply

