Lacey Smith

Action shows gratitude

In Holidays, Religion on December 2, 2011 at 12:00 pm

My last post talked about my inclination towards laziness. Unfortunately, I would much rather rebuild Rome on my computer than I would type up blogs.

However, with the recent Thanksgiving holiday I’ve been thinking a lot about how the choices I make reflect my attitude about what I have.

See, I tend to believe that the choices I make reflect the way I feel about or the importance I place on the things I’m making choices about.

For example, I don’t think flinging Angry Birds at evil pigs is necessarily bad and sometimes it’s a very good, much needed respite from life. I do think that four hours of it is probably excessive and bad – especially when it takes me away from much more important things.

Thanksgiving sort of reminded me that I need to be much more thankful. My life has gotten to be a little bit like the holidays at a retail store.

The Christmas lights are up, the sales are posted, carols rings cheerfully from the speakers, everyone rushes around a little bit getting everything they “need” – and it’s not even Halloween yet. Everything looks bright and shiny, but the real importance is gone and the meaning is missing. Things get all out of order and priorities get slightly messed up.

Now my blog is not the confessional booth nor I’m not trying to make anyone feel guilty with me, but I know I’m not the only one who feels this way.

It’s easy to go through the motions of expressing thanks verbally in prayer every night, but often the words lack substance.

It’s really in the doing that we express what we feel.

Jesus counseled His disciples, “If ye love me, keep my commandments” (John14:15). It’s really the doing that counts.

If I’m truly thankful for a free country, I’m going to defend and care for it.

If I’m truly thankful for my family I will nurture and protect them.

If I’m truly thankful for my church, I will donate my time and my money and anything else it needs to sustain it.

If I’m truly thankful for God I will obey Him and serve my fellow men.

As JFK said, “…the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.”

It’s true: Real, genuine gratitude is a force that compels us to action and actual thanks can only be shown through the choices we make, not empty words.

I have so much to be thankful for – a hundred thousand blessings and more.

I can do better. I think we all probably can.

It’s our actions that show us – and God – what’s important to us. Hopefully, no matter what else we value, we don’t forget to be grateful to Him for Him.

Being grateful means action. What are our actions saying?

Leave a Reply

