Lacey Smith

Restoring Love

In Uncategorized on August 10, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Two weeks ago, I was in Dallas, Texas. The three days I spent there were incredible. It reminded me who I was and who my fellow Americans are.  I am optimistic for the first time in years that there is hope for our country.

It’s taken me this long to write this post because the trip was very demanding and life has not slowed down in the weeks since. I had to have time to really process three days of intense and incredible growth and spirit.

It also doesn’t fit into one post at all well.

Two weeks ago, I was in Dallas for a three-day event called Restoring Love. It was an amazing weekend.

On Thursday, after five hours on an airplane, we arrived in Dallas and started trying to figure out the roads there (they are an insane death-trap). When we finally made it back from our hotel to the American Airlines center for the first event, I was physically, mentally and emotionally sapped and genuinely worried about how the next few days would play out.

However, gathered with over 10,000 fellow patriots, their spirit and the spirit of Freedom overwhelmed my exhaustion. It’s amazing what an arena that looks like this can do:

As Misfit Politics describes it, “It takes a certain kind of crazy to stand against such overwhelming odds of failure, embrace freedom and liberty when everyone else seems to have a hard time with it…” and that does something amazing for my spirit.

On Friday, my husband and I, along with up to 35,000 volunteers (seriously… organizers had more people than project needs), were assigned a service project in the Dallas area.

I worked for hours hanging clothes at a Goodwill along with a half-dozen women while others worked throughout the store. One employee told me they had received such a large donation of clothing that they didn’t know how they were going to process it all. We were a blessing to them.

It didn’t seem like work to me and I wish we could’ve been there longer and done more.

Other volunteers rebuilt homes, received food drive donations, cleaned wheelchairs, spent time with the elderly and more.

All of these volunteers came to Dallas on their own dime, many taking their only vacation for the year to do this. Even if there had been no other events, I know many of these people would have come just for this.

However, we weren’t done yet. The rest of Friday was equally fulfilling but Saturday was really the highlight of it all.

While my husband drove a really expensive car around a track, I went to a Women’s Conference. I could (and will) write a whole separate post on this incredible three hour meeting. The short summary is that I met great women, listened to incredible messages and saw the integrity of the people around me.

Finally on Saturday night, in a nearly full Cowboy’s Stadium, I soaked in the nearly indescribable spirit of a gathering of devoted Americans and the word of God. One part concert, one part lecture, one part show and tell and one part movie, I’ve never been to anything like it. I have rarely felt anything like it in my life.

The best way to describe what happened that night is to quote Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas:

And what happened then? Well…in Whoville they say,
That the Grinch’s small heart Grew three sizes that day!

I walked out of the stadium different. Enlarged. And having made a commitment to be different from there on out.

That’s something that has stayed with me. Some of the glow has faded, the message I’m already forgetting, but the commitment hasn’t gone away.

My job – each of our jobs – is to be a member of the body of Christ. We are to be His hands, His feet, His voice as the Spirit directs us, spreading His love and His light among all around us.

God teaches us to be free, to fight for liberty, to love and serve our neighbor, to strengthen each other, “[w]ith malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right as God gives us to see the right, [and to] strive on to finish the work we are in…” (Abraham Lincoln).

That was my takeaway from Restoring Love. That was my commitment. And every day, it is my challenge.

For most of the 65,000 + of us who were there, Restoring Love hasn’t ended. It was just the beginning.

We might be a tiny group, but there are more of us all over the world. We are awake and committed and we are striving to be on God’s side.

Leave a Reply

