Lacey Smith

Where We Go From Here

In Current Events, Politics, Religion on November 6, 2012 at 11:57 pm

It’s been ages since I posted even though I have had no shortage of opinions on politics, religion and the real world. It seems somewhat cliche to start posting again (although that assumes I’ll continue blogging) on election day. But I have spent the last eight hours watching election coverage and, like a lot of my conservative friends, I am disheartened.

Tonight was not merely a bad night to be a conservative. It was a horrible night. It’s going to be another rough four years and I truly believe what we saw in 2004-2008 was just a warm up.

I’ll openly admit to being a conspiracy theorist (although is it a theory if it’s true?) and I have predicted doom and gloom at a faster speed than it has happened. However, I also believe that my sense of urgency is not a bad thing.

Not to be melodramatic, but the end is coming. If you have read and believe in the Bible, you know that these are the end days. I’m no prophet, but I think it is easy to line up Biblical prophecies with current events. I also listen to people much wiser than I am who are saying the time is short. What that means in God’s “world”, I don’t know. I do know it is not outside the realm of possibility that Christ could come in my lifetime.

So for those of my friends who feel like the end is coming: it is. This presidential election really shouldn’t change much.

We should be preparing ourselves already. If Mitt Romney had won, I would be saying the same thing: Pray. Get your house in order. Sweep your own front porch. Plant a garden. Pray. Teach your children (do not leave their education up to the schools. PLEASE. That’s a big part of how we got into this mess). Save your money. Store food. Pray. Buy a gun. Educate yourself. Talk to your neighbors. Pray.

To quote Dana Loesch (if you don’t know who she is, google her… seriously!): “We. Have. Work. To. Do. PERIOD. … YOU DO. Not the RNC. YOU.”

Tonight’s election showed me a whole lot of things I might break down in coming days (provided I can pull myself away from babygazing at my one month old). Above all, though, it reminded me that ultimately all I can control is me. My circumstances. I can choose to prepare as best as I can so that when rains come and the winds blow my house will still stand.

Where we go from here is exactly where we should’ve been going for the last 11 years: to God.

It doesn’t matter who is president (that doesn’t mean don’t vote!). God is in charge if we let Him be. If our country won’t let Him be in the government, we can only decide if we want Him in our lives.

Tonight was colossally awful. It’s going to get harder. But that shouldn’t come as a surprise. No matter the outcome, tomorrow was going to be rough.

Sweep your own front porch. That’s all you can do.

Leave a Reply

